Skrolla Recieves "Prize Design for Modern Furniture"

Skrolla is honored with "Prize Design for Modern Furniture"

July 21, 2023

In 1949, the Museum of Modern Art (MoMA) organized the “Prize Designs for Modern Furniture” to encourage the best of contemporary design by exhibiting the most notable examples in the furniture industry. The idea of the competition was to draw the attention of designers from around the globe to create fresh new ideas leading to the production of new types of furniture. The winning furniture designs in that first year, 1950, included new works by modernist trailblazers including Charles Eames, Walter Gropius, Hans J. Wegner, Davis J. Pratt, Don Knorr, Theodore Luderowski, Franco Albini, Abel Sorensen, and Junzo Sakahura.

Skrolla Chair

Seven decades later, Global Design News and The Chicago Athenaeum Museum of Architecture and Design have relaunched this historic event. “The newly reformatted program showcases the best and the most outstanding new examples of furniture created by some of the most renowned international designers and architects, produced by the best and most innovative manufacturers worldwide,” states Global Design News.

“It’s an honor to receive this accolade, especially considering the award’s historical roots going back to the mid-century modern era. So much furniture innovation happened back then, created by many of my design heroes. Skrolla even echoes mid-century qualities of elegant form, graceful bent wood, and new construction methods. It’s kind of a nod to that great era of furniture design,” said Dan Harden.

Share this article